Veg·an

/ˈvēɡən/

noun: vegan; plural noun: vegans
a person who does not eat any food derived from animals and who typically does not use other animal products.
“I’m a strict vegan”

adjective: vegan
eating, using, or containing no food or other products derived from animals.
“a vegan diet”

There are many ways to embrace vegan living. Yet one thing all vegans have in common is a plant-based diet avoiding all animal foods such as meat (including fish, shellfish and insects), dairy, eggs and – as well as avoiding animal-derived materials, products tested on animals and places that use animals for entertainment.
 

 

 

Vitamin Supplements For Vegans

While eating a plant based diet is fairly straight-forward, vitamins and supplements are a different story. Take for example a typical vitamin supplement. You need to make sure all ingredients, including the capsule itself is vegan-friendly. When looking at a label, it’s important to not overlook the gelatin that is used to encapsulate the nutrients.Gelatin used in two-piece hard-shell gelatin capsules is obtained through the processing of collagen found in the connective tissues and bones of most animals, so obviously this would not be acceptable.

Other non-vegan items that are sometimes overlooked are the ingredients themselves. Take Vitamin D3 for example. Most all Vitamin D supplements on the market utilize Vitamin D3 from lanolin. Lanolin is extracted from sheeps wool. While this type of Vitamin D is taken from the wool of healthy living sheeps, it’s not considered vegan friendly.

If you’re looking for a vegan vitamin D, we really like Perfect Immune™, featuring a Vegan-Friendly Vitamin D3 that comes from lichen and not from sheep’s wool.

 

Vegan Supplements We Like

Sale!
Sale!
Sale!
Sale!
Sale!
Skip to content